We all have our foibles and eccentricities. Some, (like the character, Sheldon Cooper, on Big Bang Theory) seem to have more than their fair share admittedly, and I confess that I may well be one of those. However, I do still function quite well in the walk-about world. The people I meet seldom engage in either obvious avoidance nor in overly solicitous behaviours. I think that makes me pretty “normal.”

I have my ways of doing things.  See No Easy Path, or Why not?  I have usually chosen my ways as a result of some sort of efficiency, some money-saving, some benefit-providing process that has passed inspection in the mass of well-boiled noodles I hold in my head.

Though I may be well-foibled and eccentric, people generally still like me. Most of my odd behaviours have resulted from examining human activities on the basis of “Why this? Why not that? and Is this really necessary at all?” But some of them are just plain-old, goofy, grown-up boy preferences. I thought of this just today as I picked up the small, plastic-sleeve-protected, photo of my girlfriend and slipped it into my breast pocket. (Yes, yes, I know – near my heart.) A few times a day, I will notice the thing in my pocket, I’ll take it out, look at it and feel warmed, if not even smile, myself, in response to the smile with which her photo greets me. Awwwww. I know.

I appreciate eccentricity in others too, especially if they can joke about it. I have a neighbour, for instance, who is loath to do much in the way of exercise. Let’s just call him ‘engaged with the cerebral.’ Once every week or two, I have gotten together with him and his equally engaging partner to quaff a dram or two of scotch and we discuss many things, including our eccentricities. Often enough, such discussion prompts him to say, “I make it a point to attempt to engage, each day, in the seven deadly sins. Unfortunately, my first choice is often the sin of sloth, and I never get around to the other six.” This is my favourite kind of humour – understated, mildly audacious, greatly irreverent, thought-provoking, just plain amusing. It tickles my noodle mass.

I do tend to seek companionship with others who are outside the conventional, yet not so far out that normal discourse is rendered impossible. I sometimes walk with a woman who is a physical dynamo. She walks recreationally with me, but she also practices for internationally competitive race walking with a group dedicated to that sport. That’s just to give you a flavour of her. She’s also a multi-degreed, former concert pianist, among other areas of expertise.

goodLife1   She tells me about her boyfriend. I tell her about my girlfriend. Everything’s cool. Friendly, but comfortably detached. Eccentricities? She has her share, and I am comfortable with them. Like my neighbours on both sides, my walking friend is educated beyond my modest achievements but we still seem to be able to enjoy amenable conversation that assumes some basic knowledge in most areas.

Such a happy state of being! No wonder my former girlfriend thinks I have a “Pollyanna” approach to life! I have great neighbours on both sides, a fine walking friend (who also enjoys scotch, as I do) and the most wonderful girlfriend any man has a right to imagine! Ahhh – the good life!

goodLife2

