Having a new girlfriend in my life has had me explaining myself more because, it may surprise you to learn, I have several unusual ways of doing things, including some things that are no doubt unique. I claim not to have OCD, and I believe my self-diagnosis is still correct, but I confess to engaging in borderline activities.

Unlike the character Sheldon, on “Big Bang Theory,” I do not knock three times nor call peoples’ names three times in order to enter a closed door. I do tend to develop standard orders in various restaurants, but I’m not fussy about it. On the other hand, I am fussy about other things.

I showed my home-made “Scandals” in the posting titled No Easy Path . Not sandals. Sandals have open toes. I do not like having my toes open to accidentally catching the bottom edge of a toenail and having it painfully bent back. “Scandals” have closed toes, but are otherwise open and slip-on.

img_1488

Some might say that my flatware drawer presents evidence of OCD. I once nested all of my tableware in profile just because I liked the look of it in my drawer, but I now nest only the soup spoons because they fit better nested whereas it doesn’t matter with any of the other pieces. So see? I’m not inflexible.

But as my gal runs into various peculiarities of mine, I have to acknowledge my penchant for odd, but often wise or convenient ways of doing things.

Tidy-pour for example, is my own design to improve upon what wine makers have offered us. Wine may be bought in four-litre bags in Ontario and probably elsewhere. The bags come in boxes. The boxes have to be coaxed and manipulated into cooperation to become holders for the floppy bags which must have their taps properly positioned from which to pour wine. But the bags never empty well from inside the boxes. When I used the boxes, the bag was always so twisted around inside the box that the tap stopped dispensing wine when there was still about two, eight ounce glasses of wine left! This was unacceptable to me.

whynot1

I used an old laundry detergent jug, cut some parts away, nestled the bag into the resulting container (it even has a handle) and voilá – I built a better wine dispenser! My former girlfriend named it “Tidy-pour,” because I had used an old Tide detergent jug.

Okay, so that was fun. But my explanations seem to be required every so often about other things like why my empty tissue boxes are stuck to surfaces. They are not free-floating because I dislike grabbing a tissue from a nearly empty box and having the whole box rise through the air along with the one tissue I want, sometimes then knocking over other things nearby or causing me to make an emergency grab for the box with my free hand (which is not always free) to help keep the box in place. Can’t the box be made to stay in place until I wish to change the box? Yes it can! Simply roll two small balls of non-staining sticky-tack (available at school or office supply stores), apply the sticky-tack to the bottom of the tissue box and press the box into place on any smooth, hard surface. When the last tissue is withdrawn from the box, pull hard on the empty box, remove the sticky-tack, re-roll it into balls again and reapply to the next box you put in place. Easy!

whynot2

I have a special, enriched recipe for coffee creamer (using evaporated milk, regular milk and just a touch of maple syrup). I make a cherry yogurt with added so-called ‘sour’ cherries (not really sour at all) to make a dessert style yogurt with lots of fleshy cherries on which to chew. I buy inexpensive, unsweetened apple sauce and sweeten it just enough by adding an ounce or so of thick, white-guava nectar, then pour it over fresh raspberries for a fresh-and-fruity, non-fat dessert.

Life doesn’t get easier when you constantly ask yourself, “Why this? Why not that?” One is regularly making alterations in things. But sometimes fuss-budgets like me are happy when things are made to work better just because they can be made to work better.

whynot3

Don’t ask about the marbles in the margarine tub at the top of the stairs!

